PSS Commission

The Commission is a 15-member body of public-spirited, private citizens who are knowledgeable and interested in the area of public welfare.

Each member of the Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors appoints three Commissioners who serve for a two-year term.

The Commission meets monthly to discuss, examine and evaluate public welfare issues and the programs and operations of the Department. All meetings are open to the public. Meeting dates and locations are posted on the Commission Calendar and the Department of Public Social Services Community Calendar.


Commission Responsibilities

Display menu

Commission Responsibilities

  • Consulting with and advising the Director of Public Social Services and the County Board of Supervisors on all matters relating to the provision of Public Social Services.
  • Conducting studies, public hearings and reviewing proposed federal, State, and local legislation and regulations.
  • Making recommendations to promote effective, efficient and cost-effective delivery of departmental services.


Commission Bulletin Board

Display menu

Commission Bulletin Board

Commission Members

  • 1st Supervisorial District
    Adele Andrade-Stadler (Vice-Chair)
    Michael Flood
    Raùl Estrada

  • 2nd Supervisorial District
    Egerton Forster
    Booker Pearson (Chair)

  • 3rd Supervisorial District
    Mary Galvan Rosas
    Lori C. Stein
    Yvonne Chan, Ed.D.
  • 4th Supervisorial District
    Sue ElHessen, Ed.D.
    Veronica Lewis

  • 5th Supervisorial District
    Michael Bloom
    Joe Brown
    Frank G. De Balogh, Ph.D.



  • Executive Director
    La France Toliver
  • Commission Secretary
    Tina Phan


Contact Us

Send us your questions or comments about the Commission for Public Social Services.