Welcome and thank you for visiting the website for the DPSS Appeals and State Hearings (ASH) Section. ASH is in the Bureau of Special Operations, Program Compliance Division and it is the largest State Hearing Section in the State of California. There are 106 Appeals Hearing Specialists and 21 Supervising Appeals Hearing Specialists assigned to ASH, to handle roughly one third of the appeals filed in the State.
We are proud to offer a site with access to ASH related information that is easy to follow and that provides helpful information for County staff and the public we serve.
To carry out the Federal and State mandates, guaranteeing applicants and participants of public assistance the right to a fair and unbiased hearing.RIGHT TO A STATE HEARING
A State Hearing is available to public assistance applicants and participants who are dissatisfied with a County action or inaction. A request for a State Hearing must be filed within 90 days after the date of the action or inaction. The California Department of Social Services (CDSS), State Hearing Division is responsible for scheduling the State Hearings, which they normally calendar within 30 days from the date they receive an acceptable hearing request.HOW TO REQUEST A STATE HEARING
An applicant, participant or an Authorized Representative (AR) can request a State Hearing as follows:
ASH is responsible for reviewing the appropriateness of the County's action or inaction. When a recipient or participant files for a State Hearing, they become known to ASH as a "claimant."
ASH staff must be knowledgeable of all aid programs and well-trained in oral and written communications to represent the County and protect the rights of the claimants effectively. If the County did not follow required procedures, ASH resolves the issue with the claimant without the need to hold a hearing. ASH also advises district offices of the administrative error or reevaluation needed and instructs them to take immediate corrective action. If the County acted properly and met all procedural requirements, ASH prepares and presents the County's position to an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) in the State Hearing. In Los Angeles County, State Hearings are held in downtown Los Angeles at 811 Wilshire Blvd., 11th Floor, Los Angeles, CA 90017.
CDSS' State Hearings Division, under the direction of a Chief ALJ, administers the hearing process, they conduct each hearing and they render a fair, unbiased and independent State Hearing decision. The decision must be adopted within 90 days from the hearing request date.OPERATIONAL STRUCTURE
ASH is comprised of three major operations as follows:
ASH works closely with district offices to resolve issues raised by claimants without the need for a State Hearing. Currently, over 90% of all appeals are resolved without the need for a hearing. For calendar year 2012, ASH processed/resolved 26,718 hearing requests, which averaged 2,227 appeals per month. This means that generally, either a hearing was held or the issue was resolved to the claimant's satisfaction within 30 days.
Additionally, for calendar year 2012 ASH received a total of 8,521 hearing decisions; 2,572 were in favor of claimant and 866 were granted in part and denied in part. A total of 5,088 decisions supported the County's actions in full.
LOS ANGELES COUNTY - DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SOCIAL SERVICES
Find the LA County services and facilities that serve your area...